Problems – Reading the Signs

Untitled

The funny thing about the flu is, I am never sure if I have it or if it is something else. Vague symptoms, combined with a klutzy fall in tangled ivy, caused me to be unsure if my body aches and feelings of illness were due to the fall or due to something else. (Hmmm…is ‘Wasn’t sure I was sick,’ going to be my epitaph?) Now I think the fall might have been caused because I was a bit unsteady on my feet due to…yes…probably a mild case of the flu. A general all-encompassing feeling of something being wrong, a constant need to lay down, whether it be on the couch, a bed, the tub, or during a few very bad hours…on the bathroom floor.

I’m on the upswing today, but the nefarious hold of this type of illness is that it claims you back, a bit like a rogue and violent wave in a peaceful lagoon. I will think I am on the upswing and then, “Bam!” another wave of ill feelings will engulf me. So…I guess I am going to chalk up my days of feeling “off,” to the flu. Especially since, everyone, but a very blessed few in the family, has come down with exactly the same thing over the past few weeks. The illness seems to hit people in the area where they are weakest along with an unrelenting day or two of headache.

And as to the problem-solving category this post is in, I had my best few hours when I stewed down some chicken legs, onions, carrots, garlic, fresh oregano, dill, basil…added the juice of a lemon, a touch of orange juice, and felt compelled to add a splash of vinegar too…a pinch of sugar, a teaspoon of salt and a shake of pepper. Don’t know if I’d recommend it for anyone else but for some odd reason I added a pinch of baking soda…oh yes…don’t forget to cover all with water and the pan with a lid. 🙂 I cooked this concoction for 2 1/2 hours, cooled down and strained all solid pieces out, re-boiled, added some cut spaghetti pieces and dined. Oh my, I thanked God the whole time it was cooking…I knew just by smelling the incredible aroma of the steam that I would feel better. That was the best day of the whole illness. I think I am on the upswing now…we will see. My advice…at all times have some chicken in your freezer ready to boil down. Chicken broth has been proven to help combat the symptoms of cold and flu: 10 Foods To Eat When You A Cold or Flu.

I apologize for the rambling nature of this post…but hey…I’ll just blame it on a brain dealing with the flu!

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

