Pots and Pans – Fresh Pineapple and Cheese Casserole with a TWIST.

IMG_1248

Pineapple on sale…only $1.99 apiece. Terrific! Only problem is I don’t like eating pineapple by itself…hmmm…grandchildren over for dinner, how best would they like to eat the pineapple? I decided on baked pineapple casserole. When I looked for a recipe on the Internet all I found were recipes for canned pineapple. Not an option when you have a gigantic pineapple waiting to be eaten. Finally on the site Big Oven, I found a recipe for a fresh pineapple casserole. You can find that recipe here: Fresh Pineapple and Cheese Casserole

I cut the pineapple up into small chunks as instructed, and began putting the casserole together, only to discover I did not have the proper ingredients. I had no Ritz crackers, and my shredded cheese was flavored for Tacos. RATS! What to do with all the pineapple I had cut? I decided to use what I had on hand. Soda crackers and the Taco flavored cheese would have to stand in for the proper ingredients. I also chose to add a bit of brown sugar to the recipe to mimic the richness of the Ritz Crackers.

Oh MY! The casserole was delicious. Everyone from young to well, hmmm…older, enjoyed the pineapple cheese casserole and asked for more. Here is my altered recipe. I am sure Big Oven’s recipe is terrific too since most of the ingredients listed were also in my casserole.

1/2 c Sugar
1/2 c Butter (melted)
1 c Fresh pineapple; chunks ( make the chunks smaller rather than larger, a few of mine stayed a little hard)
3 tbs Flour
1 1/4 Cups soda crackers; crushed into small and large crumbs
1 Cup shredded Taco seasoned cheddar cheese
2 TBS brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 13 x 9 baking pan or dish. Mix sugar and flour together. Stir pineapple into the flour and sugar. Pour into a greased baking dish. (I like glass for this recipe, you can also use a large round casserole dish) Sprinkle with taco cheese in an even layer on top. Add 1/2 cracker crumbs dry, spaced evenly. Drizzle with half the melted butter. Mix remaining crackers and butter in small bowl. Sprinkle this evenly over top of casserole. Sprinkle 2tbs brown sugar evenly over the top of casserole. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes until the topping is crispy and slightly golden brown with bubbly edges. Remove and cool till set. (10-20 minutes) The casserole can be served hot or at room temperature. This recipe reheats easily in microwave or stovetop. You also could bake it a bit, but it might dry out.

4 thoughts on “Pots and Pans – Fresh Pineapple and Cheese Casserole with a TWIST.

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

