Plantings – Fruit and Vegetable Seeds/Pineapple

IMG_1302

My older grandsons love planting different seeds and plants with me. I thought as a goal this summer we would try growing a seed, tuber or sprout from every fruit and vegetable we eat. A good fruit to start with is a pineapple. I bought a large and succulent beauty this week, on sale for $1.99 at the local grocery store.

For tips I went to Pinterest first and discovered a wealth of information. You can check out the many “pins” on pineapple planting here: Pinterest Search on Pineapple Planting

I found there are two ways to plant a pineapple top…directly in soil, and by soaking in water. Here are links to both ways:

Growing Pineapple Top in Water
Planting a Pineapple Top in Soil

We will attempt to plant in dirt first. This involves cutting off the bottom of the pineapple (eating the yummy fruit afterwards as baked pineapple casserole,) soaking in a bit of water, finally placing the stem end in potting soil.

IMG_1304

I cut the top off and let the fruit dry for a day or two. The next step was to soak the dried out bottom in water. When I checked the progress a day or two later the fruity portion still left on the stem promptly fell off.

IMG_1307

I soaked the bottom of the stem in water for a few more days.

IMG_1362

When the time came to plant the stem my grandsons helped me remove more of the bottom leaves. PSHEW! There was a bit of a rancid odor when these leaves broke away. I think a bit of decay might have set in while the stem soaked in water. Perhaps I should have shortened the soaking time.

IMG_1364

Denuded of bottom leaves, the stem had a promising look.

IMG_1366

Now for the fun part, planting the stem in the potting soil. We used a big pot. The pineapple will grow very large and bushy. I want plenty of weight on the bottom to keep the plant from tipping over.

IMG_1368

We were pleased with the finished appearance of the potted pineapple. Even without new growth it is an interesting plant. Updates to follow on the progress of our experiment.

Follow Me on Pinterest

 

4 thoughts on “Plantings – Fruit and Vegetable Seeds/Pineapple

    1. Since ours is just planted I can’t use it as an example, but from other blogs and videos I have seen the plant develops very large fountain-like leaves and the new pineapple grows on a stalk above these. I have read it takes about TWO years. I guess this “fruity” planting experiment will be a houseplant more than a plant re-growing a pineapple. It will be fun to watch. Thanks for the comment. Have a blessed day! 🙂

      Like

  1. HOW COOL! 🙂
    I always wondered if I could do pineapple in a pot….
    I know I can not plant one outside as the temps here are too cold & summer too short for that plant….

    TY for the inspiraion my friend. 😀

    Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

