Problem-Solving – Waiting for Perfect Conditions

“If you wait for perfect conditions,
you will never get anything done.”
Ecclesiastes 11:4

IMG_1796

I’ve read this verse in Ecclesiastes many times, but do I follow it’s perfect advice? Well, I’m sorry to say…not usually. And do I get anything done? Well yes, the things that matter, but do I reach for my dreams? Hmmm…sorry to say, sometimes yes, but more often than not I postpone them for fear conditions are just not right.

The cover of the scrapbook in the photo above was created by gluing squares of discarded watercolor paper to the front. Each piece is from a painting that I rejected after deciding it was just not good enough. I thought, and still think, that the effect of the squares is quite pretty. So pretty in fact that after years of having the book ready for scrapping bits and pieces of prose and art it still stands empty. I don’t want to risk messing it up.

IMG_1614    IMG_1615

I did have one or two pages inside devoted to my art, but I deemed them unworthy and pulled them out. WHAT am I waiting for? I am determined to start gluing and drawing and writing inside the pages of this book…this week…perhaps today!

2 thoughts on “Problem-Solving – Waiting for Perfect Conditions

  1. Shirley

    That cover is beautiful! It looks like some of the quilts my mother makes. I’ve started to use my favorite glasses and dishes that I used to be saving for special times. I finally got to the point of thinking “what am I saving them for?” Now I enjoy using them. Perhaps you could put photos and amusing things your grandchildren do and say in the book as well as your impressions of life as a grandmother.

    Like

    1. I agree about using what is special…I have dishes and other “special” things I save that I need to start using. Good idea about the grandchildren impressions! Say hello to everyone from all of us in NJ. Have a happy week! 🙂

      Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

