Problem-Solving – Gone to Seed Part One

IMG_1937

Such a sweet and delicate pink flower…lovely to look at, but irritating if you are trying to grow a root crop from the plant. This blossom was not supposed to show up in my garden. It is atop a radish plant. Instead of a flower the stem was supposed to yield a large and juicy radish buried beneath the ground. This year, I only harvested a piddling few radishes and they were small, very small.

I don’t feel so bad, my neighbor, who I’ve mentioned before is a terrific gardener, told me he never harvests the large-sized radishes the grocer offers. Perhaps it was the cool Spring that jumped past warm into hot weather. Anyway, long story short, my radishes have gone to seed.

IMG_1939

Most gardeners would pull up the plants and resow another late summer crop. I will probably do that at some point, but until then I am nurturing the seedpods…why? Well that is tomorrow’s tale. Until then…

18 thoughts on “Problem-Solving – Gone to Seed Part One

  1. Q:
    Seeds from basil….
    I’m talking about the same basil one would cook with.
    I have about 5 or 6 individual plants growing in my windows & 2 have flowered….
    Do you know if getting seeds from these plants is relatively easy, or a complete pain in the posterior?

    Again, this is something I have never done B4 & am interested in trying…

    I just figured you’re the plant Guru, so if anyone would know, you would…. :p

    Like

    1. You would have to put them outdoors for a while and hope the bees or other pollinating bugs notice them. Otherwise you would have to hand-pollinate and I have never done that. I know it can be done, but I usually let nature do the work. After that bring them in and they should create seedpods. Let them mature and dry out and when you harvest, they should produce new plants from the seeds.

      Like

  2. REQUEST:
    if you have any extra seeds, I would love to try & grow some…I’ve never done it B4, & to me it sounds interesting…besides, being disabled, it gives me something constructive to do. πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. Did you know that Pumpkins are full of vitamins & minerals?
        that the leaves, and the flowers are edible as well as the fruit?
        That all 3, the fruit, the leaves & the flowers, are all easy to bake?
        and let us not forget about the seeds….
        they are very nutritious as well…
        And when you first plant the seeds, if you bury a dead fish with the seeds, it’s kind of like Miracle Grow on steroids! you can almost watch them grow.

        The fish has a few different things that feed the seeds as they grow into big, strong, healthy plants with a fruit that is bigger & tastier than if it did not have the fish.’

        TY & GOD bless you. πŸ™‚

        Like

        1. Hey James, I love the fish with the pumpkin idea. It sounds a bit like the way the Native Americans taught the Pilgrims to plant. Very wise. I received the address…will go through the seeds soon and send you off a few. I have quite a few coleus seeds also…they are so much fun to grow. I have several posts on how I do it throughout the blog. I will send you a sampling of those too.

          I kept the wonderful information you commented on about the Pumpkins. I love pumpkin and use it quite a lot in cookies, pies, etc. In fact, I have a can now I am going to make in very “unseasonable” cookies for my grandson. He loves them and so do I. They have a terrific frosting. I will reply to this post again when I have sent the seeds out. God bless.

          Like

            1. Absolutely no compensation needed…just do a kind deed for someone with them…such as grow someone a plant, or give them some fresh herbs. That is all I need in return. I also consider you a friend and friends don’t need to pay friends for a gift. πŸ™‚

              Like

            2. James, My grand-daughter and I went to the post office today and mailed out some microgreen seeds to you. I think you will enjoy growing them. They are ready to harvest in about two weeks. Enjoy! There are also some coleus seeds, but they are mixed in with a bit of chaff from the plants. I didn’t have time to separate it. I have a lot of posts on how I grow coleus. I hope you’ll give them a try. Blessings. Kathy

              Like

            3. I would like to say how wonderful a friend you are, but that does not even begin to express how I feel…I thank you for taking time out of your busy day to send me these seeds, and as far as the chaff goes, think fertilizer….this chaff will eventually break down like compost/mulch, &(hopefully) help these seeds grow into a strong & vibrant plant….at the very least, I don’t see where this chaff would cause a problem in the growing process.

              In life, we all have a certain amount of chaff in our lives…
              and that chaff, will create some resistance to our growth….but the chaff also helps to shape us & make us, into what GOD wants or needs us to be, so that we can serve him the way he wants us to.
              “…into every life a little rain must fall…”
              Though I do not remember where this saying comes from, but “rain” comes in many different forms, and falls so that we can row strong & vibrant in our Lord & Savior, Christ Jesus.

              GOD Bless you my friend…today, tomorrow, & forever more. πŸ™‚

              Like

            4. The greatest gift we can give to another, is to give of ourselves.

              I try to give what I can to all my friends….I just hope that it shows….

              Talk whispers…..actions scream. πŸ™‚

              Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

