Problem-Solving – Gone to Seed Part II

IMG_2028

My Black-seeded Simpson recently went to seed due to the heat. Instead of pulling all of it out for the compost heap, I am leaving a few squares to grow on and form seeds. This will allow me to use the lettuce seeds they produce as microgreens and also give me plenty to sow in next year’s garden. A square of Cimmaron lettuce and some Arugula are now in the process of setting seed too.

IMG_2029

On my potting bench I have set up a seed farm to make the most of the last of my microgreen seeds.

IMG_1691

Most of these seeds are dated 2011, but still sprouted for me within a week. I am especially fond of the sprouting peas on top of my salads. I will let a few grow on and set some seed to harvest.

IMG_2030

If you’ve never heard of microgreens check out this post: Minding My P’s with Q – Microgreens

IMG_2031

Another good article on the nutritional aspects of microgreens can be found here: WEBMD report on Microgreens

IMG_2032

Follow Me on Pinterest

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

