11 thoughts on “Phavorites – Phavorite Site/Budget 101

  1. JaneM

    You’re welcome. BTW, if you use/like instant yeast, you can order it from a restaurant supply biz out of CA. SAF is an excellent brand. Their price has gone up slightly since I ordered it a few months ago, from $4.50 per 1-lb bag to $5.10. Plus they were shipping to the Midwest, it might be slightly higher since you are further East. I keep my in the freezer and spoon out the yeast into a 4-oz yeast jar I keep in my fridge. It keeps well past its expiration date if you store the bag in the freezer.

    http://www.culinarydistrict.com/910.html

    Like

    1. Hi Jane, I didn’t see that on the site, but have in the past, and it DOES work. I am not sure if I want it near my food though…I’m not sure what it is in the Irish Spring and my soil is organic. I will have to check the article out a bit closer, for now, I just took a close look. Thanks so much for pointing it out. It’s a great site…I can’t wait to explore it more. 🙂

      Like

      1. JaneM

        Kathy, it seems quite promising. I checked on a few interesting recipes, and found a number of very good tips. I currently subscribe to 15 recipe websites (12 individuals [5 now have published cookbooks] and 3 food manufacturers – Pillsbury/Kraft and Betty Crocker). Fortunately, not all of the individuals post recipes on a daily basis; otherwise, I’d be losing my mind (perhaps I already have and don’t realize it 😀 ).

        Like

        1. I agree with you Jane…a terrific site…lots of promising and good ideas. I cook for my family four days a week. I am always on the lookout for good and economical recipes. I also like the idea of finding substitutions for the processed additions to a lot of recipes…namely cream soups loaded with chemicals. I think I have found a few…I’m going to try them out and blog on them. Thanks so much for your wonderful comments. Kathy

          Like

          1. JaneM

            Kathy, I also cook for my family (primarily dinner most days of the week). I am a scratch cook primarily out of economic necessity but I have learned over the years, homemade does taste best and you can always adjust any recipe to suit your family’s tastes, which ingredients you have on hand or budget. In fact, the day you posted this new site, I was making my own pita bread because I refused to pay $2.57 for 5 small pitas from Walmart, when I can get a 5-lb bag of unbleached all purpose flour for about the same amount. I also have two 1-lb bags of Instant SAF yeast in my freezer (cost for yeast and shipping, $18.95 vs. buying a 4 oz. jar of yeast at store- $6+; a savings of $29+). The Chickens in the Road site I mentioned to you in a previous post has a lot of scratch recipes for homemade mixes (includes cream soups):
            http://chickensintheroad.com/cooking/archives/
            Click on “Homemade Mixes.”

            Like

            1. Just found the book at my local library…placed a hold on it. I think I’ll be able to start reading it next week. Thanks so much for being so kind and commenting Jane. Sometimes a small comment can change a life for good. 🙂

              Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

