Prompt – Daily Post/You Robot

You, Robot – Congrats — you’ve been handed a robot whose sole job is to relieve you of one chore, job, or responsibility you particularly hate. What is it?

A robot would do this dreaded job for me: Cleaning Soap Scum or Mildew off of the Bathroom Shower Walls

IMG_2943

I do dislike this job, but have found some shortcuts around it. Number one on the shortcut list is Blue Dawn and Vinegar for soap scum. It works. IMPORTANT TIP: The solution does not work if you don’t heat the vinegar. Use equal parts Dawn and HEATED vinegar. A link with a good explanation can be found here: Blue Dawn and Vinegar

To remove mildew I use pure bleach in a squeeze bottle with a tip. I squeeze it onto the mildew spots. I always seem to feel choked if I use spray mildew removers. It stays with me for over 24 hours. When I use the bleach in a squeeze bottle none gets in my lungs. Please remember to use rubber gloves when using bleach out of the bottle.

To read the Daily Prompt follow this link: The Daily Prompt/You Robot

17 thoughts on “Prompt – Daily Post/You Robot

  1. JaneM

    If the vinegar has to be hot for the solution to work, does that mean you will actually have to make small batches so the vinegar is hot with each application (the recipe makes no mention of this). I don’t know if it would be harmful to heat the vinegar/Dawn solution in your microwave before each use. Have you tried it, Kathy? I currently rent an apt. in an old 2-story brick house built in the 1940’s. The bathtub was obviously upgraded at some point in time (80’s?) but it almost appears as if it could use a re-enameling. Consequently, I don’t know if what I have is a soap scum or an enamel leaching problem. I have used scrubbing bubbles with a non-scratch 3M scrubbing sponge to no avail.

    Like

    1. Yes, I’ve tried it a number of times…IT WORKS! Yes, I make small batches…about half a windex bottle at a time. I heat the vinegar on the stove in a pan. I usually spray it on, let it sit for about five minutes, then wipe it with something like your scrubbing sponge or a nylon scrubber. You don’t really have to push or rub hard, just move the solution around a bit. The last time I used it the shower was very hazy with the soap scum. It came right off.

      Like

      1. JaneM

        I need to clarify my question – have you ever heated the residual vinegar and dawn mixture in your microwave for additional soap scum cleanings? I don’t know if the heat and that combo would cause a chemical reaction that could blow up my microwave. I suppose it could be done in a pan on the stovetop.

        Like

        1. Ms.Jane:
          I use vinegar to clean everything from ceiling to floor & have NEVER heated the vinegar…never needed to.

          If the problem you are having is bacterial in nature, vinegar will clean it up QUICK….
          if it is the enamel, then little, if any, change will occur.

          The best way I have found to clean the inside of a microwave oven, is to put lemon juice(about 2 -3 ounces) in a microwave safe cup or container, set the timer for 4 minutes, & press start.
          when the oven turns off, remove the lemon juice, & with a clean sponge/rag, wipe down the inside of the oven. al the grease that was inside will come right off directly.

          If you wish, you can rinse with plain water, but you do not need to…and the lemon juice?
          make lemonade so it does not go to waste…or use it for drain cleaner/refresher/???

          Like

          1. JaneM

            Thank you, James. I recently found a tip on how to unclog my bathroom sink using 1/2 a cup of baking soda and a 1/2 cup of white vinegar. It worked quite well. I think I’m going to have to Wally World and buy myself another gallon of white vinegar.

            Like

          2. Ms.Jane:
            Because I am on a fixed income(not by choice), I can only do major shopping 1x a month…
            so to give you an idea as to how much vinegar I use in an average month, I buy 4 – 6 GALLONS a month….i aslo add essential oils to the mix but that is just me, you don’t need to, it just leaves behind a better aroma.

            If you wish to learn more about “green cleaners” cleaners that are easier on you, the family & the environment, here is a good place to start.

            http://www.motherearthnews.com/diy/make-your-own-green-cleaners.aspx#axzz30r35qgGN

            Mother Earth News(MEN) is a magazine that is geared toward self sufficiency & living green. A lot of what I learned about green cleaners, I learned from MEN.

            Peace.

            Like

            1. JaneM

              Thank you for the link, James. I will check it out. I have been compiling green cleaner articles for a number of years now. I recently discovered VinegarTips.com and it looks promising. Here is a link to their short list of vinegar don’ts: http://vinegartips.com/vinegar-donts/ Wow!! 4-6 gallons a month!! And I thought 1 was a lot. I assume you and I are in the same position – early SS (at age 62, due to job loss) and I also do my major shopping once a month. I no longer purchase a lot of cleaners. They are expensive and usually don’t meet my expectations.

              Like

  2. As you know, Bleach will surely kill the mold, but in time, it will kill you as well.

    I am one for the more natural approach. IE: products from nature.
    Below I have listed some websites that speak about how to kill mold & mildew without chemicals.
    some of these I know to work very good because I use them myself(vinegar, lemon juice, essential oils to name a few).
    _____________________________________________
    http://www.mnn.com/health/healthy-spaces/stories/how-to-kill-mildew-naturally
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    http://www.ehow.com/how_4849641_natural-mildew-remover.html
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    http://thethriftycouple.com/2013/05/14/natural-homemade-mold-and-mildew-remover-recipe/
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    http://www.care2.com/greenliving/10040.html
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    http://www.organicauthority.com/sanctuary/get-rid-of-mold-and-mildew-naturally.html
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    f/n:
    I use vinegar straight up for cleaning everything….even the toilet. once in a very blue moon I will add an essential oil, or some dish soap to it, but then I only use 2 or 3 drops of dish soap.

    I clean the counters, kitchen & bathroom floors, bath tub, toilet….everything! windows too!

    Currently I am looking to buy a croc so I can make my own vinegar, but even to buy it, vinegar is cheap compared to buying those chemical cleaners….and it does a better job too.

    I stopped using chemical cleaners about 12 – 18 months ago & have yet to regret it.
    healthier on you, healthier on the planet, it’s biodegradable,….using natural cleaners is a win/win situation.

    I hope this helps you. I want my friends to live a long & Jesus filled life. 🙂

    Like

      1. to tell someone you care about them & about their family is easy….to SHOW them you care, takes effort.

        I can only hope that my actions SHOW that I care about those I call my friends.

        Like

    1. Ms.Jane:
      I do not ever remember counting the drops..I just add what oils I have at the moment until it smells good to me, LOL
      as far as where to get them?
      Here are some places you can check out:

      https://www.mountainroseherbs.com/
      *I have shopped here & their products are great! friendly & fast service, reasonable prices.*
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      http://www.vitaminshoppe.com/store/en/vitamins_minerals/index.jsp
      *this store not only has essential oils, but many health related products as well. Here in this store, you might be able to “kill 2 birds with 1 stone” so to speak.*
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      http://www.bulkapothecary.com/
      *this store has many things besides the oils.
      there are bar soap supplies, candle supplies, herbs, vitamins & so much more.*
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      http://www.puritan.com/essential-oils-679
      *this store has a variety of products besides the essential oils. I can not give any recommendations of this store for I have never shopped here.*
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      If you choose to Google search essential oils, try using
      “essential oils for sale” in the search box….
      My results were 6.2 MILLION in about 0.42 seconds. 🙂

      I DO hope this helps you.

      Peace.

      Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

