People & Prompt – The August Blues and Mary Engelbriet

The Daily Prompt for August 27th was this question:

“August Blues/As a kid, were you happy or anxious about going back to school? Now that you’re older, how has your attitude toward the end of the summer evolved?”

IMG_3032

I was usually very happy about going back to school. One of my favorite shopping experiences as a child was going to a store with my parents and picking out a new notebook, pencil bag, pens, crayons…all the wonderful supplies that had the potential to help make me a star student. Well, I don’t think I was ever the star pupil, in fact I know so, but I still had a good time imagining myself as such! 🙂 The school supplies were the perfect prop to propel me to what I hoped was great success.

IMG_3046

I still love collecting supplies and props that will help me succeed. One of my favorite “school” supplies are notebooks of all kinds. They are a tool to prevent me from forgetting an important date, and keep me on track with menus, entertaining, vacation plans, etc. I also include Bible verses and other inspiring thoughts within the pages of my notebooks.

IMG_3033

One of my favorite artist/illustrator/decorators is Mary Engelbreit. I have two of her books. loved her magazine, and still use old pages of her calendars to create the collages that decorate the covers of my “to-do” notebooks.

home companion

I put anything and everything in these books of mine, but when their “season” is over, I am glad to replace them with new blank pages. They aren’t created as a keepsake, they are a tool to keep me moving onward and looking up.

IMG_3035

My notebook pages always have a section for jotting down new blogging ideas too! 🙂

You can read more about Mary Engelbreit here: Mary Engelbreit/About Me Page

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

