Pots & Pans with a Quick Tip – Martha Stewart’s Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie (With Detours)

martha steward

Last week I received my November issue of Martha Stewart Living Magazine. The cover photograph immediately intrigued me, and I promised myself I was going to attempt to make each one of the pies featured.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie with Gingersnap Crust

IMG_3771

Detour Number One – I didn’t count out the 23 required gingersnaps, choosing instead to process them in my small food processor, measuring out about a cup and a half to two cups as the cookies crumbled. Since I have made many cookie crusts I know this is a good ratio for a medium thickness. I also cut back the sugar to one tablespoon; gingersnaps are sweet enough on their own. I followed the rest of the recipe instructions as written.

IMG_3772

Detour Number Two – I own a very small food processor. I realized the impossibility of processing all the filling ingredients at one time, so I opted to use my mixer instead. I had no problems substituting the mixer for the processor. I followed the filling instructions as written. The Pumpkin Cheesecake baked perfectly!

IMG_3775

Detour Number Three – No one in my family likes meringue topping on a pie. Although it looks pretty, the ingredients and the time involved in whipping it up would be a total waste. Instead of the meringue I used large marshmallows masquerading as an elegant topping.

IMG_3777

Quick Tip – To give the marshmallows a prettier appearance I cut them in half and notched the edges.

IMG_3779

I placed them, cut side down, on a piece of parchment and toasted them in the toaster oven. Ah, lovely…they began to brown and give off the aroma of campfire marshmallows. I took them out when they deepened in color to golden brown.

IMG_3782

I placed the whole tray in the freezer and let them harden. Believe me when I warn you touching them right out of the oven will firmly attach them to your finger or the knife you are using. When they were fairly frozen, I flipped them and let the sticky underside harden in the freezer.

IMG_3783

The marshmallows turned out to be a pretty good stand-in for the meringue.


IMG_3784

I also left a portion of the cheesecake edge bare.

IMG_3785

The marshmallows are cute, but I prefer whipped cream on almost all the pie I eat.
Whoops! Almost forgot to mention the taste of the pumpkin cheesecake is fabulous! Definitely a recipe to keep. The recipe is on the Martha Stewart Living Website – Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie with Gingersnap Crust

8 thoughts on “Pots & Pans with a Quick Tip – Martha Stewart’s Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie (With Detours)

    1. Thanks, I have often craved campfire marshmallows, even thought of roasting one over a candle, but didn’t, afraid of a big mess. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this easy fix of just toasting them instead of roasting them. 🙂

      Like

      1. That’s so clever! Last time we tried roasting marshmallows over a bonfire my son accidentally set his on fire and instinctively shook it, which caused it to fly off the stick and land on my arm. It burned so badly that I didn’t feel it and 6 years later it’s still healing! We don’t do that anymore!!

        Like

          1. It was terrible! At first we were trying to pick off the marshmallow but then we realised it was actually my skin which had turned white… In hindsight I really should have gone to hospital!!!

            Like

            1. That is so awful it makes me cringe inside. I’m glad it was far in the past. I will be doubly careful about campfire marshmallows from now on. Your experience would be a great tip on a camping website. Thanks so much for visiting my blog and commenting. It is appreciated!

              Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

