Pots and Pans – Plantains

IMG_3794

I didn’t experience eating plantains until I visited Jamaica. I have since learned to cook them as a side dish/dessert for family and friends. Plantains have good fiber content. They have more vitamin C and A than bananas, are a richer source of B-complex vitamins, and provide minerals such as iron, magnesium and phosphorus. Plantains contain more potassium than bananas. Cooking Plantains is an easy and rewarding task. The only additional ingredients I use are two pats of butter and some brown sugar.

Step One

Slice plantain on the diagonal.

IMG_3795

Step Two

Melt two pats of butter in pan.

IMG_3797

Step Three

On medium heat begin to fry in the butter. Brown on each side and check tenderness with a fork.

IMG_3800

Step Four

Sprinkle brown sugar over plantains. Don’t be alarmed if the brown sugar falls between the slices and bubbles up on the pan. This gives the edges a crispy crunch of sweetness. Cook only until sugar is dissolved and begins to firm up a bit.

IMG_3803

Serve and eat warm…very delicious!


IMG_3805

4 thoughts on “Pots and Pans – Plantains

  1. Plantains in every form are a staple in our diet-we make chips with the unripe ones, steam the ripe ones for breakfast( no sugar), use the skin of the raw plantains as a vegetable side dish with lentils, garlic, coconut and mustard.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I love to cook plantains this way Susie, and now I am hungry for them…I will have to buy a couple when I shop this week. It is very easy…not really a recipe. I think you could add any spice you like to them as they cook. I like cinnamon. I especially like the crunchiness the edges get from the melting brown sugar.

          Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

