Phlowers – Ikebana

“What is Ikebana?”

“Ikebana is the Japanese art of flower arrangement. It is more than simply putting flowers in a container. It is a disciplined art form in which the arrangement is a living thing where nature and humanity are brought together. It is steeped in the philosophy of developing a closeness with nature.”
~ Ikebana International

Here are a few examples from Longwood Gardens recent exhibition of the Art Of Ikebana.

IMG_3927

IMG_3928

IMG_3929

IMG_3930

IMG_3931

IMG_3932

IMG_3933

4 thoughts on “Phlowers – Ikebana

  1. In that first arrangement I think the chandelier was overkill – ha ha.
    My favorite is the third one that I think is a red peace lily, and a plant my Mom used to refer to as “Wandering Jew”. If so then the symbolism completely fulfills the definition of Ikebana – “nature and humanity” – the long struggle by the Hebrew people to have peace.
    Beautiful post!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dixie, I’m glad you liked the Ikebana…much prettier in person. I was glad we were there when the arrangements were on display. I live about an hour from Longwood Gardens. It is one of my favorite destinations. I think you are right…about the Wandering Jew. The Peace Lily is also called an Anthurium. I have a red one, and also recently found a green and pink variety to try and grow in the house. I’m hoping to write a post about the new plant soon. I have had good luck with the red variety. They are a fairly easy houseplant to grow. I’m lucky because my local grocery store offers many interesting varieties of plants to purchase, and I’m afraid I do, and do, and do!!! 🙂 Blessings!

      Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

