Pots & Pans – Cheesy “Crack” Bread

IMG_4194

Doesn’t that look like a yummy appetizer. Believe me…it is delicious! It’s called “crack” bread. Now, I don’t know if it is called crack bread because you cut diagonal slices in it, thus forming “cracks,” or, could it be that it is totally addictive and hard to stop munching once you start? Whatever the reason for the name, it is easy to make, inexpensive and enjoyed by young and old alike.

I found a terrific recipe at Recipe Tin Eats. If you like pieces of garlic in your recipes then please take a look at this recipe. If you are like my family, perhaps you will prefer a softer version of the garlic butter and use Adobo seasoning or garlic powder to flavor your spread. In any case, please check out Recipe Tin Eats blog page.

crack bread

Flickr Photograph courtesy of Robyn Anderson – Creative Commons license

Here is my adaptation of the recipe.

Ingredients
1 crusty loaf of bread
¾ cup shredded Mozzarella cheese (or other melting cheese)
(optional) 1/4 cup fresh grated Asiago Cheese

Garlic Butter
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 tsp Adobo seasoning or garlic powder (not salt)
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp fresh parsley, finely chopped (more or less works fine, also a lesser amount of dried can be used, but fresh is definitely better)
3/4 cup fresh grated mozzarella cheese

I used a round bread, next time I’ll go for a more oblong shape. Make several one inch diagonal cuts with a sharp serrated knife, turn bread and slice up the other side, creating diamonds. Slice almost through, but not quite. Place bread on a piece of heavy duty foil. Melt butter, careful not to burn, and add garlic powder or Adobo. Spoon butter in between cracks.

After you’ve filled each crack with a bit of butter, stuff in some cheese, sounds easy, but it is a little tedious and time consuming.

Wrap in the foil. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven. If needed, you can refrigerate for a few hours until ready to bake.

Now here is where I had the BIG problem, and the reason why I can’t show you the finished loaf. When I unwrapped my cheesy bread, the whole thing fell apart when I tried to place it on a serving platter. I think I sliced the diagonal cuts too far down. So instead of my finished loaf, I am showing you a Flickr photograph courtesy, of Robyn Anderson.

Delicious!!! And the bonus…it reheats easily in the toaster oven and tastes even better. Happy Crackin’

2 thoughts on “Pots & Pans – Cheesy “Crack” Bread

  1. Just in case you may not know about organic 100% whole ground golden flaxseed meal, it is made by Bob’s Red Mill. It is gluten free for those who need that, but I am glad to say I do not.

    We were visiting out today and the hostess made pancakes for brunch. She gave me the recipe and said be sure to let the batter sit a while before trying to cook it. I am telling you, I could have eaten my weight in pancakes. She served real organic maple syrup with them too.

    Like

    1. Hi Beth, I don’t use Bob’s Red Mill flaxseed meal, but I do have the 10 grain cereal in the morning. I LOVE it. Delicious. I even eat it all through the summer. It really starts my day off right.

      Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

