Praise & People – George Beverly Shea/ C-H-R-I-S-T-M-A-S

George Beverly Shea (February 1, 1909 – April 16, 2013) was a Canadian-born American gospel singer and hymn composer. Shea was often described as “America’s beloved gospel singer”and was considered “the first international singing ‘star’ of the gospel world,” as a consequence of his solos at Billy Graham Crusades and his exposure on radio, records and television. Because of the attendance at Graham’s Crusades, Shea has sung live before more people than anyone else in history.”

Growing up, this was one of my very favorite Christmas albums…yes, you heard me right, an album. We had an old stereo, about the size of a small desk, and I remember curling up in an overstuffed chair and singing along with all my favorites. George Beverly Shea lived to be 104 years old, surely a life lived for the Lord.

Put Christ Back Into Christmas

When I was but a youngster, Christmas meant one thing
That I’d be getting lots of toys that day
I learned a whole lot different when mother sat me down
And taught me to spell Christmas this way

C is for the Christ child born upon this day
H for herald angels in the night
R means our redeemer
I means Israel
S is for the star that shone so bright
T is for three wise men, they who traveled far
M is for the manger where He lay
A is for all He stands for
S means Shepard’s came
And that’s why there’s a Christmas day.”

Songwriters: Eddy Arnold, Jenny Lou Carson

2 thoughts on “Praise & People – George Beverly Shea/ C-H-R-I-S-T-M-A-S

  1. “…For unto you born this day in the City of David A Savior,
    which is Christ the Lord…”
    KJV Luke 2:11

    May the Lord be near you always, & may he bless you & yours this Christmas Season.

    Merry Christmas My Dear friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

