Pots & Pans – Fidget Pie

IMG_4399

One of my goals for 2015 is to sort through all the outdated magazines I have stored in my closets. Some issues of Victoria are over twenty years old. I know there is a market for vintage magazines, but I have been down that road in the past, and it’s not worth the aggravation to me. Instead, I’m determined to take a look at each page before I recycle them.

At night, while watching television, I do double duty and leaf through the contents. The beautiful photographs are fading, but there are still good ideas to be found. One of these is a recipe for “Fidget Pie.”

IMG_4461

There are only a few ingredients in Fidget Pie, a fact I love, and better yet, it is a good way to use leftover ham.

•1 pound potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced (about 3 and I use Yukon Gold)
•Salt and pepper to taste
•4 chopped fresh sage leaves or 1/2 teaspoon dried sage
•1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
•3 cups diced cooked ham (12 ounces)
•1 medium onion, thinly sliced
•1 pound cooking apples, peeled, cored and sliced (about 3)
•1 1/4 cups chicken broth or stock
•Pastry for single crust 9-inch pie

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Butter a deep, 2 quart casserole. Layer potato slices in the bottom of the casserole. Season with salt, pepper, sage, and nutmeg. Continue layering and seasoning. Cover with pie crust. Cut vents for steam to escape. (I used premade piecrust) Bake at 425 for 15 minutes ( I added 15 more minutes to this and covered with foil for those minutes, I find potatoes take longer to get soft than most people realize. Remove foil for last hour.) Lower the temperature to 350 and bake for 45 minutes more.

I used a deep dish and did not need to put it on a tray to catch overflow and drips.

IMG_4464

A good step by step recipe with lots of tips can found at Welcome Company.

The pie smelled sensational while it baked. The juices did stay very thin as the recipe suggested. Will I make it again…you bet! It is a delicious meal for a wintry night. The recipe is also very budget friendly.

IMG_4465

10 thoughts on “Pots & Pans – Fidget Pie

  1. the pie looks hearty and good! and I know it can be hard to part with books and magazines – and I strongly suggest that you keep a few – especially if an issue is dear to you. I have an old fall magazine from the 80’s – not sure the tile exactly – but it has a pecan pie recipe in it and well, it was tucked away in the spare bathroom for years and I just decided to keep it with the books because I also love the ads and other things that seem to preserve time and yesteryear. I know we have to declutter and get rid of things – and actually 2014 was a year of getting rid of TONS of things form clothes to board games – but some things are worth making room for – at least for a little while longer… but I guess it depends on how many magazines you have! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have well over two hundred…maybe more to sort through…and books galore. The Victoria magazines have faded and developed a foggy look over many of the beautiful pictures. I have so many books…many vintage…and I’d rather keep those than stacks of old magazines. I do agree though…if I come across an issue I love I will keep it.

      Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

