Plants & Phavorites – Welcome Minerva

IMG_4531

IMG_4546

Minerva, the Amaryllis bulb I purchased in November, finally grew and bloomed.

IMG_4151

In November, I blogged about finding the bulb dressed up in a pretty gauzy bag.

IMG_4533

Minerva has lived up to her packaging and beautiful name. She is a medium-sized Amaryllis with gorgeous stripes running the length of her petals. Minerva was worth the two months it took her to grow and blossom.

IMG_4523

I grew three Amaryllis plants this year and hope to bring them back into bloom next December. I found information on how to do this at the United States National Arboretum website: How to bring an Amaryllis back into bloom.

IMG_4532

The United States National Arboretum is a great site to browse. I’m hoping to visit there within the next year or two.

IMG_4529

My Orange Sovereign Amaryllis unexpectedly formed seed pods. I checked a few sites to see if an Amaryllis is Self-Pollinating, but found the answer was no. Somehow, either by a gnat or other insect, or by moving the plant from room to room, the amaryllis was pollinated. I found some good information to follow on Youtube from the Amaryllis Man on how to grow the seed. We’ll see if I have any luck growing one of these beauties start to finish.

4 thoughts on “Plants & Phavorites – Welcome Minerva

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

