Praise – Take the Name

Sun Blossoms,
Sun Blossoms

The message of a good gospel hymn is timeless. Technology is a great thing, but along with all the gadgets that accompany us everywhere, we need to remember to keep the ‘Name of Jesus’ with us at all times. This hymn by Lydia O. Baxter was written in 1874. I’ve included a video of the hymn sung by one of my favorite groups…The Chuck Wagon Gang.

“Take the Name of Jesus with you,
Child of sorrow and of woe,
It will joy and comfort give you;
Take it then, where’er you go.

Chorus:
Precious Name, O how sweet!
Hope of earth and joy of heav’n.
Precious Name, O how sweet!
Hope of earth and joy of heav’n.

Take the Name of Jesus ever,
As a shield from every snare;
If temptations round you gather,
Breathe that holy Name in prayer.

O the precious Name of Jesus!
How it thrills our souls with joy,
When His loving arms receive us,
And His songs our tongues employ!

At the Name of Jesus bowing,
Falling prostrate at His feet,
King of kings in heaven we’ll crown Him,
When our journey is complete.”
~ Lydia O. Baxter

4 thoughts on “Praise – Take the Name

  1. Thank you for sharing ! I must confess, I have never opened and listened to any of the youtube videos you have posted before this and I did today. It was wonderful- I listened to it while working at my desk.
    The beauty of an old hymn is everlasting and it takes you to heavenly heights. I was sad when it was over and that is the feeling I always get when an old hymn is over.
    Have you listened to ” Be thou my vision”-?
    Susie

    Like

    1. Thank you Susie. If you go to Youtube and search for the Chuck Wagon Gang you will find dozens of good songs. I don’t know if they sing ‘Be Thou My Vision,’ but they do sing many other good ones. I like another one called ‘Come Unto Me’ quite a lot. The words are very meaningful. The group has been around for decades with new family members being born as the older ones have passed away. They always have unique harmony. Thanks so much for the comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

