Proverbs – Good Deeds

IMG_6073

“A man will be satisfied with good by the fruit of his words, And the deeds of a man’s hands will return to him.” ~ Proverbs 12:14

According to my computer clock, as I am writing this post, the time is 6:48 a.m. Even as I compose my paragraphs I am reaping the benefits of my “good deeds” toward the birds. The symphony of birdsong coming through my window is bringing me great joy.

I have three birdhouses in my yard at this time, far enough away from each other to prevent the birds from feeling their territory is being invaded by another. One of the houses seems to have been rejected by one and all…why is a mystery to me. One has been a home to sparrows, and the one in the photograph is the nesting spot for a family of wrens. I benefit not only from their lovely songs, but also their bug-catching abilities. I am always on the hunt for new ways to draw birds to my yard.

Quick tip for birdhouses: Place some sort of barrier around the entrance to the house. This will keep rodents (squirrels in my case) from chewing the opening larger and getting inside. Brass thumbtacks are a good choice and easy to push into the wood. I also enjoy the rustic look they give the bird house.

4 thoughts on “Proverbs – Good Deeds

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

