Quirky, Quick Tip – The Dragonfly Pick

IMG_6825

On a recent hot day I found a dragonfly, lifeless on my front sidewalk. I took it inside and laid it on a piece of paper, waiting to see if it might still be alive, but it was not. What beautiful wings and perfect body, I marveled at the intricacy of the insect. I left it where it lay for a few days knowing it would dry out. Preserving the dragonfly as a plant pick was my way of paying homage to its magical beauty.

IMG_6821

A small dab of hot glue and a cloth covered floral wire was all it took to attach the dragonfly to the wire.

IMG_6822

I wrapped the opposite end of the wire around a small toothpick and inserted it into a fern. Beautiful. If you are squeamish about bugs perhaps you don’t see the beauty of my craft, but I am filled with awe when I gaze at the perfection of the dragonfly. This technique will also worked on other beautiful winged creatures. I have found quite a few large butterflies and moths perfectly preserved on forest floors and fields. Keep your eyes open for a winged creature who has succumbed to old age and find a way to extend its beauty for a bit longer.

13 thoughts on “Quirky, Quick Tip – The Dragonfly Pick

            1. Yes, the older ones come over frequently and we do crafts and I am teaching them some life skills. Silly things such as opening cans with a can opener, but a skill you need as you get older. I’ve taught them how to make red sauce and also how to use yeast. This week I might teach them how to make bread. The littler ones I do crafts with at this time.

              Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

