Pleasure – Apples

IMG_7809

September is here…school begins…the bliss of summer ends. Happily, Autumn has its own joys…and apples are tops on my list of seasonal favorites.

IMG_7814

I bought a small basket of Gala apples at the local farm market. Galas are one of my favorite apple varieties. I enjoy using them to make a delicious side dish of baked apples. (With whipped cream on top, baked apples can also be a delicious dessert.)

IMG_7815

Core and slice the apples thin. No special measurements, slice up as many as you think you will eat in one sitting, or cut a few extra for leftovers.

IMG_7816

I like to cook baked apples in glass bakeware. Place apples in baking dish, dot freely with butter, sprinkle top with brown sugar, and add a sprinkling of cinnamon. I sometimes also add a pinch of salt. Bake at 350, covered with foil or a lid for about forty-five minutes. Enjoy!

IMG_7818

One thought on “Pleasure – Apples

  1. What a wonderful recipe ! I live in a country, which does not grow apples, so we depend on imported apples of which there are so many varieties. We have gala apples and they come from China- do they have the same flavour as the American gala apples ? I have to eat some to compare but the best apples I have tasted, whose taste lingers long after you have eaten them are Lebanese apples.

    Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

