Pots & Pans – Applesauce

IMG_8060

Apples are plentiful at this time. I thought I would try to create a bit of applesauce with a few that were becoming a bit mealy. I peeled and sliced the apples. Instead of sugar, I added about five strawberries I had on hand for flavor and sweetness. I added a bit of water, about a 1/4 cup, and a squeeze of some type of citrus. I brought this to a boil and simmered lightly until the fruits were soft and on the verge of falling apart. A hard stir, and just like that I had my applesauce. It is absolutely delicious. The applesauce will keep for about three days in the fridge. A sprinkle of cinnamon is also nice.

IMG_8062

14 thoughts on “Pots & Pans – Applesauce

  1. I only started making apple sauce this year. It takes not more than 10 minutes and is so tasty, of course I immediately thought, I should have done that all my life. I always add a bit of molasse sugar, cloves, cinnamon and cardamon. Most delicious with vanilla custard and pancakes 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for the good ideas for additions. I will definitely be trying a few of them. I smiled when I read that you immediately thought you should have made applesauce all your life. We must be kindred spirits because I thought to myself, ‘Why have I never done this before?’ Think of all the years of good, natural, delicious applesauce I wasted. :/

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Lovely recipe! I hope I’ll get organised this weekend and go blackberry picking. We have an apple tree in the garden and I’m dying to make apple and blackberry crumble. I also use cinnamon with apples and custard: absolutely divine!

    Liked by 2 people

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

