Quick Tip – Substitute Heating Pad

IMG_8321

Preparing for our recent trip to Jamaica, I ran around like a madwoman packing, cleaning, watering plants, doing laundry, preparing pet meals. At 2 a.m. on our departure morning, as we left the house, I said to my husband, “My hip feels funny.” Uh-oh, little did I know much more than our destination was on my horizon.

We arrived in Treasure Beach, Jamaica, after a very bumpy, winding two hour trek over the mountains. No worries man…we were soon in the beautiful ocean. Wouldn’t you know it, a wave took us both down, and of course, you guessed it…down I went on the hip that was already feeling “odd.” Within twenty-four hours I was in extreme pain and could hardly move. I took over-the-counter pain relievers, and in the place of a heating pad we used the hottest hot water our room put out, wet a washcloth and placed it in a plastic bag. It worked wonders when placed on the injured area. The heat lasted quite a while and definitely soothed the pain.

We are at home now, and I am still feeling an occasional twinge. I’ve continued using the plastic bag and wet washcloth, but now I heat it with my microwave for about forty seconds. Be aware the washcloth becomes extremely  hot, and cannot be placed on bare skin. Long story shortened: a hot washcloth in plastic is a good stand-in for a heating pad.

8 thoughts on “Quick Tip – Substitute Heating Pad

  1. Thanks for the tip. I wish I’d known that little trick last summer. The day after we went on holiday I slid down a bit of cliff (those white ones near Dover) and smashed my left shoulder three ways. You can’t immobilise a shoulder break so it was an extremely painful journey to recovery. Hope you’re feeling better, but if not, I hope you’ve been to a doctor about it. Ann 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s only a little tender now…I’m on the mend. It is a good tip isn’t it? I’m glad I knew about it. It is also so much easier than storing a heating pad if you only need it now and then. I have WAY too much “stuff” in my house now. It’s good to just pull a washcloth and plastic bag out of cupboards and closets.

      Like

  2. Kathy, this is the back pain you were talking about and the holiday. Hope you could see the sights and enjoy some of Jamaica even though in pain. I am glad you are feeling better and appreciate your ability to share something you learnt with others, even while you were not so well yourself.
    Praying for healing and a speedy recovery.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

