Quick Tip – Quelling a Queasy Stomach

IMG_8572

It’s the season of stomach flu, digestive upsets due to over-eating or eating the wrong foods, and as in my case, ingesting too many chemicals/food coloring.

My husband is a victim of stomach flu today. He works in retail and comes in contact with many people in the course of day. Eventually, germs slip by even the most diligent hand-washing. I offered him a bowl of applesauce just a few minutes ago, and he was able to eat it. I think he will begin to feel better soon.

When I am feeling queasy, or wake with a sickly headache due to unwise eating, applesauce makes me feel better. I always choose a brand without sweeteners. The last thing I need when I am feeling poorly is a big dose of sugar or artificial ingredients.

Applesauce is an item in the BRAT diet for upset stomach. (Bananas, Rice, Applesauce and Toast) BRAT diet information.

Here’s some more great advice for quelling a queasy stomach. Thanks to Fatima for this great comment.

“When I was a child, my mum would grate an apple and add some orange juice for sweetening whenever we had a poorly stomach and didn’t feel like eating. Another one of her home remedies was to mash a banana with lemon and a bit of sugar: this really stopped runny tummies very quickly and I still use this remedy today. My son loved it too and it really works! Can’t beat nature for effective remedies!” ~ Fatima Saysell

7 thoughts on “Quick Tip – Quelling a Queasy Stomach

  1. When I was a child, my mum would grate an apple and add some orange juice for sweetening whenever we had a poorly stomach and didn’t feel like eating. Another one of her home remedies was to mash a banana with lemon and a bit of sugar: this really stopped runny tummies very quickly and I still use this remedy today. My son loved it too and it really works! Can’t beat nature for effective remedies!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have never needed to eat all the BRAT items, but applesauce cures so much for me…queasy stomach all the way to sick headache. I always try applesauce first thing. Also, if I wake in the AM a little “off” feeling, applesauce works wonders.

      Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

