Plants & Problem-solving – Sage/Treating Powdery Mildew Naturally

I love cooking with fresh herbs. I have several on my windowsill at the ready for use in my favorite recipes.

Sage Powdery Mildew

Recently, I was shocked to find my sage plant covered with powdery mildew. How did this happen so fast? While researching,  I read mildew is spread by water. Oh no! In an attempt to keep the plant spider mite free I had sprayed with water. I should have used a solution of chamomile tea, a natural fungicide, when I sprayed the sage.

Sage Mildew Close Up

The affected leaves could not be saved. Drastic measures needed to be taken.

Sage Powdery Mildew Solution 1

I plucked away all the spotted leaves and discarded them, leaving what I hope are mildew-free leaves. I will check the plant daily, and if I find the same problem I will try a spray of chamomile. Placing the sage alongside a rotary fan will help with quicker drying time. If the plant is still diseased I will be forced to discard it and try again. In the meantime, I must remember to keep it in “plant quarantine.”

8 thoughts on “Plants & Problem-solving – Sage/Treating Powdery Mildew Naturally

    1. I bring so many plants in, I sometimes wonder why I do it, but then in the Spring, when I don’t have to replace them with smaller plants that cost a fortune, I am GLAD I did it. I hope you have a wonderful day my friend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

