Photo Challenges – Optical Illusions/Black and White

soldier black and white

Another winter day means time for one more  Wordpress Challenge. Today I’m taking part in Cee’s Black & White Challenge-Angles and Lines. I’m using a close-up of a wooden soldier that was in my collage of the Mullica Hill Alphabet posted on January 18th. I find many angles in these photographs.

soldier cigar

When I took this photo I didn’t notice the cigar the soldier held  in his mouth. I studied the picture, trying to figure out exactly what made up the cigar. Hmmmm???? The question became: Was it really a cigar or something behind the soldier. What do you think?

soldier black and white 2

Aha! Upon a closer look, the shadow told the tale.

soldier no cigar

Just an optical illusion after all. I’m still bamboozled by what is creating the illusion. I’ll have to visit the town again and take another look…soon!

14 thoughts on “Photo Challenges – Optical Illusions/Black and White

  1. Pingback: Phun – Mystery Solved/Mullica Hill Soldier | MINDING MY P'S WITH Q

  2. Pingback: Cee’s Weekly Wrap Up – February 6, 2016 and WPC: Time | Cee's Photography

  3. Pingback: Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: Food and Beverage | Cee's Photography

    1. Another blogger commented and thought the “cigar” is a nail in a tree…I’m going back to the photo to take another look. Nothing like being fooled by your own photograph. Typical of me!!!

      Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

