Phun – Mystery Solved/Mullica Hill Soldier

A few weeks ago I published a post on Optical Illusions. The illusion in question was whether what appeared to be a nail in a soldier’s mouth was actually there, or an object far behind him, so perfectly aligned it appeared to be in his mouth.

soldier no cigar

I thought I had solved the mystery by the lack of the nail cigar/cigarette in the cast shadow and proclaimed in my post there was no nail. This morning my husband and I were once again driving through Mullica Hill, and luckily I had my camera. I asked him to stop so I could discover exactly what had lined up so perfectly in the photograph. I was surprised to find, that although I thought the shadow proved there was no nail, hmmm…sure looked like a nail to me.

Mystery Solved 1

Mystery solved, it was a nail after all. New mystery, why didn’t the nail cast a shadow. Any ideas???

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

