Photograph – Ailanthus Webworm Moth

img_4010

I spotted an Ailanthus Webworm today when I looked out my window at the morning sky. I love finding examples, such as this moth’s beautiful coloring, of God’s artistry in the world around me. The moth is out of his element, since he is a tropical moth. How has he survived the frosty temperatures? Perhaps the cold was my ally in getting a good photograph of him. I gently raised the screen with the moth still on it, hung my hand and camera out the second story window, and snapped a photo.

The tiny ailanthus webworm is thought to be native to South Florida and the American tropics (south to Costa Rica),which were the habitat of its original larval host plants: the paradise tree (Simarouba glauca) and Simarouba amara.

img_4012

This moth gets its name from the Ailanthus tree.

img_4013

8 thoughts on “Photograph – Ailanthus Webworm Moth

    1. Hi Susie, I noticed it a few times through the morning, and now, the next morning at 6:40, it is gone. It flew away at some point—probably when the sun had warmed it up a bit. It is starting to get very cold here at night. Sunday is going to be a cold day.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I don’t think it will snow for a while yet. I have heard though, that we might have a very snowy winter here in the Mid-Atlantic. But the truth is no one ever really knows until it is here. I hope you are able to see snow soon Susie!

          Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

