Past – Helge Artelius

img_4193-2

This heirloom fold-out Nativity scene once belonged to my grandmother. A beautiful work of art, the scene is filled with wonderful details. Turned around, the reverse of the painting can be found on the opposite side. Amazing!

img_4192-2

The Nativity was painted by Swedish artist, Helge Artelius (1895-1989).

nativity-collage

I found many examples of Artelius’s work on the web, but there were few details about her life. If anyone can fill in the blanks about this artist please leave a comment. Thanks!

8 thoughts on “Past – Helge Artelius

    1. The illustrations are very familiar to me. I must have seen them in the books also. I hadn’t thought of them for years also. I wish that I could find out more about her life. There is very little on the web. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

            1. Susie, I think of my grandparents daily. They were such a positive influence of Christian witness and love in my life. I hope someday my grandchildren will feel that way about me.

              Like

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

