Pots & Pans – Pork Chops in Fire-Roasted Tomato Sauce

.img_4618-2

Two days ago I cooked a panful of pork chops in fire-roasted tomato sauce. They were delicious. I spoke with my sister about the recipe the next day and told her it was one of my favorites. She asked me to email it to her. I told her I would, and that I thought it would be a good blog post. Since I was serving the leftovers again, I knew I would have a good photograph to include. Hmmmm…as you can see we ate the leftovers before I remembered to take that photo. So, for now, all I have to show for the recipe is an empty plate. That’s the good news though. This recipe is scrumptious and very economical.

PORK CHOPS IN FIRE-ROASTED TOMATO SAUCE

Ingredients

1 tbs butter
1- 2 tbs olive oil or vegetable oil
6 -9 Thinly sliced pork chops (The thinner the better, I use boneless)
1/2 C purple/red juice, wine, etc. (I use whatever I have on hand)
1 14.5 – 15 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes
1 Cup tomato sauce. (I’ve used ketchup in a pinch)
1/4 C water
3 tbs chopped parsley or 1 tbs dried
2 cloves garlic (I use 1 tsp garlic powder)
1/2 tsp minced rosemary
1/2 tsp dried basil or more if you use fresh

(At this point I add anything else that I have a whim to add)

Heat butter and oil in heavy skillet. Add pork chops. Cook uncovered until sides are nicely seared. Pour off all but 1 tbs of drippings (I usually don’t have much in the way of juices in the pan and don’t pour off, especially if I’ve used olive oil.) Stir in remaining ingredients and simmer lightly for 30 – 40 minutes. Enjoy.

The recipe can be made with larger pork chops, but perhaps simmer a little longer if you do use the larger chop. I’ve also easily doubled it and cooked it in a big cast iron Dutch Oven. We like it over rice, but you can serve it over noodles too. Sprinkle with cheese if you like, but we usually don’t need the cheese. Add a touch of water if the sauce seems to thick.

6 thoughts on “Pots & Pans – Pork Chops in Fire-Roasted Tomato Sauce

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

