Plant & Product – Mistletoe Cactus

img_4616-3

On a recent trip to Longwood Gardens I spied this amazing hanging basket filled with Pseudorhipsalis ramulosa, or as it is also known, Red Mistletoe Cactus. I love the combination of soft pink with apple green. (Granny Smith Apple – Color Your World – 120 Days of Crayola) I would love to grow this beautiful plant in a hanging basket, but have no idea where it is sold other than mail-order. Perhaps I can find a source for seeds.

img_4617-2

This year, for the first time, I have found a large variety of hard to find seeds on Etsy. I’ve ordered from three sellers and have been very pleased with the packaging and speed of delivery. Upon searching the site, I found seeds for the Mistletoe Cactus, but they were rather pricey at 11.95. A little high for something without a guarantee to grow. Check out Etsy for rare and unusual garden and houseplant seeds.

13 thoughts on “Plant & Product – Mistletoe Cactus

    1. I didn’t know either. Many strange plants I’ve wanted to grow can be purchased as seeds. I had really good luck with three separate shops getting the seeds to me quickly. I already have two of the packets I’ve planted sprouting, these were just regular garden variety seeds but one I’ve never seen to buy off a rack…browallia. To buy one plant last year as a Proven Winner cost me near 4.00. This year I hope to have several as bedding plants. I’m excited about the houseplant possibilities too.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I think this might be what we call Christmas Cactus in Florida. It is incredibly easy to root. You snap or cut off a piece at the “joint”. Down here, we just stick it in some dirt and it grows. I wonder if you can find a small one in a grocery store that sells plants in pots to grow indoors. I picked up one at Lowes Home Improvement store back in the fall.

    Like

    1. I think this one is different from what I am able to get in my grocers. I have a Thanksgiving cactus. This had a lot of pink in it, and berries. I’ve not seen that around here. Florida…oh my…it must be such a joy to live in a place that is warm. I dream about it, but the in the midst of the happy reverie, a python or alligator sneaks in, and I say NO. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Good idea…maybe later in the summer…when I am not sowing so many garden seeds, I’ll think about splurging and buying the seeds…though…if I can find a plant or cutting, that would be the better route to go. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

