Quick Tip – Cleaning Vintage Needlework

I’m awed by the patience and skill it takes to create a doily. It has quickly become a lost art in most of the world. Twenty years ago, give or take a bit, when I was more ambitious, I crocheted two easy doilies. They took a lot of time, and if I remember correctly, several times I had to unravel a mistake and try again. I’ve walked by doilies at yard sales and thrift stores with hardly a glance in recent years. Doilies have fallen out of fashion in today’s decorating. I think I am going to reconsider that decision and start to buy some of the exquisite work now and then. Just like old postcards I like to hold them in my hands and imagine the life of the needlework artist.

This doily of mine recently became soiled. The stain lifted right out when I soaked it in warm water with a little Dawn detergent and peroxide. After soaking, you must block the doily back into shape by gently smoothing/pulling it and drying flat.

I came across a few recipes for cleaning vintage pieces of needlework. If you have a stained heirloom, perhaps one will work for you: Cleaning Old Doilies

13 thoughts on “Quick Tip – Cleaning Vintage Needlework

  1. i2zhorn

    That was a common task for my mom’s mom and older sister to make doilies. I still have them and cherish them because I know they came from Italy. Embroidery work was part of my grandfathers tailoring shop.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Susie, I do remember you are a fan of crochet. I love the way the pattern of the doily emerges as it is crocheted. I remember also how long it took. Your grandmother must have had great patience and skill to do a bed-sized sheet. Have a wonderful day today Susie, Kathy

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

