Prevention – Irish Spring

I’ve blogged this in past years, and will probably blog it again in future seasons: grated Irish Spring soap sprinkled on entry areas in your yard will repel mammal pests. Another plus, oh my, it smells so good when I’m grating it. The downside, it quickly washes away in the rain. The technique works well for me if I am diligent in reapplication. I don’t place it in areas where I am growing food intended for eating. So far, the worst damage in my gardens has been the inevitable unearthing of seeds and seedlings by foraging squirrels and chipmunks and some slug damage. So far,  the battle is about even between the animal pests and me. “Onward my wee laddies and lassies!” (I’m writing this with an celtic accent of course.)

“May your days be many
and your troubles be few.
May all God’s blessings
descend upon you.
May peace be within you
may your heart be strong.
May you find
what you’re seeking
wherever you roam.”
~ Irish Blessing

12 thoughts on “Prevention – Irish Spring

    1. I hope it works, my violet foliage is so pretty, and we were just looking at it today and remembering how the groundhog ate every leaf last year. I sprinkled some in around the leaves and hope that will be a good repellent.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I want to say this prayer, ( without the Celtic accent, as I don’t know how that sounds) over my younger daughter who has gone home to her grandparents and is so homesick that she is right now, crying herself to sleep.
    Thank you,
    Susie

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, Susie, I used to go away from my parents to my grandparents when I was young. My sister and I would be terribly homesick, but now…oh the memories of those times with my grandparents sustain me on days when everything goes awry. Kathy

      Liked by 2 people

Thanks so much for visiting "Minding my P's with Q." Please take note: By commenting on blog post you are giving implied permission to reuse, republish, refer to, or use your words again in future blog posts.

