Philm & Phavorites – Enchanted April and the Guttenberg Library

“To Those Who Appreciate Wisteria and Sunshine. Small mediaeval Italian Castle on the shores of the Mediterranean to be Let furnished for the month of April. Necessary servants remain. Z, Box 1000, The Times.”

This advertisement for an Italian Castle enchants me and gives me cause to dream. In a dreary, cold winter in England, two ladies, Rose and Lotty, become friends and persevere through many doubts to rent an Italian castle in April. It makes no difference that the book and movie are set in the era between the World Wars, when Lotty opens her window on the gardens of San Salvatore, I am there too.

The first time I was captivated by the story of Enchanted April was through the movie. The novel by Elizabeth Von Arnim, written in 1922, was harder to find. It is available in print again, and is also available free through the Guttenberg Library.

I’ve enjoyed browsing through the Guttenberg Library, searching out old stories and books I read as a child. If you love vintage stories, but can’t find the books you would love to read one more time, search for the title in the Guttenberg Library.

The score for Enchanted April is also beautiful, listen for a moment—

6 thoughts on “Philm & Phavorites – Enchanted April and the Guttenberg Library

    1. The book goes into more detail…became a little long in detail though, at least where Caroline Dester was concerned…I find the movie better, but the book worthwhile. I’m going to take a look some of the author’s additional work. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Enchanted April: Renewal and Possibilities | Plain and Fancy

Thanks so much for your comments. They fill my life with sunshine.