Photograph – Ablaze and Abuzz

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Vivid.”
“The theme for this week’s photo challenge is “Vivid.” Perhaps it’s your favorite flower in full bloom, a beautiful sunset or the color of your ice cream. Vivid is limited only by your imagination. Have fun with the challenge!”

Roses & Bee 5

I took a bike ride after reading the WordPress photo challenge for this week, I was armed with my camera and an eye for color. Vivid subjects for photographing presented themselves at every turn of my wheels and handlebars. When I came upon this beautiful rose bush, ablaze with color, I knew I need not pedal any further. Cascades of pink with yellow centers glowed vividly under the early afternoon sky.

Roses & Bee 2

On closer inspection, I heard, then saw, dozens of honeybees clustered on the pollen laden centers. The rose bush was abuzz with their gathering.

Roses & Bee 3

I love honeybees, my grandfather had hives, and now my sister is a beekeeper.

Roses & Bee

The bees, enraptured with the bounty of pollen, were quite the willing subjects for my photographs. I wonder if they might be from my sister’s hives.

Rose & Flying Bee

Honeybees can gather honey up to six miles from their hives, but usually stay within a two mile radius of their home. I enjoy the WordPress Photo Challenges. If I had not ventured out with my camera, I wouldn’t have experienced those fifteen carefree minutes standing beside a rose bush ablaze in petals of pink and abuzz with gathering bees.

11 thoughts on “Photograph – Ablaze and Abuzz

        1. Hi Susie, I can never really taste the difference unless the honey is a very dark variety and then they have a robust flavor. Everything else tastes pretty much the same to me…like honey, and always delicious!

          Liked by 1 person

                1. Hi Susie, It is still very early here. I am going to a very meaningful service in a few hours. My uncle, has been a pastor for over 40 years, he is retiring this Sunday. It will be his last sermon as a fulltime pastor, although I am sure he will fill in for other ministers when they are on vacation. I will see a lot of my family and friends who I have not seen for many years. It will be a happy day, and yes, a day of worship. Have a blessed day dear friend.

                  Liked by 1 person

              1. Hi Susie, Yes, we had to drive for about an hour and a half. He lives in Dover, De. The service was very nice, and I am so glad I was able to be there to help celebrate all those decades that he was a pastor. I believe it has been near or at the forty year mark. They are good people. I appreciate your good wishes too. Have a great week! 😀

                Like

Thanks so much for your comments. They fill my life with sunshine.